Volleyball all-conference team released

Nathan Ham Sports Writer

November 7, 2013

The Mountain Valley Athletic Conference was loaded with talent once again this season, especially Starmount, who just finished a memorable season by winning the 1A State Championship last weekend.

MVAC All-Conference teams were released on Monday morning. Ashe had two players make the honorable mention list.

Senior Sloan Elliott and freshman Lynsey Aldridge received honorable mention status for their seasons.

Elliott was third on the team with 46 kills, fourth on the team with 15 serving aces and second on the team in digs with 73. Aldridge was the team leader in aces with 18 and digs with 203.

Starmount swept the top two awards inside the conference. Erin Barr was named MVAC Player of the Year and Ram coach Jon Symons was MVAC Coach of the Year.


Erin Barr (Starmount)

Leah Bishop (West Wilkes)

Olivia Bullard (East Wilkes)

Kacey Caudill (Alleghany)

Jackie Denny (North Wilkes)

Haley Hartman (Starmount)

Alli Jones (Starmount)

Courtney Lackey (West Wilkes)

Adrian Pardue (East Wilkes)

Lakyn Rutledge (West Wilkes)

Alli St. John (Starmount)

Jade Shepherd (Alleghany)

Ali Sparks (East Wilkes)

Whitney Weaver (Alleghany)

Hunter Welborn (Starmount)

Taylor Wyatt (North Wilkes)

Honorable Mention

Lynsey Aldridge (Ashe)

Kaylee Andrews (Alleghany)

Laken Blackburn (Wilkes Central)

Hannah Blake (Wilkes Central)

Raegen Bumgarner (North Wilkes)

Samantha Cozart (Elkin)

Erin Dancy (West Wilkes)

Chelsea Edwards (East Wilkes)

Sloan Elliott (Ashe)

Ashley Johnson (Starmount)

Kaity McNeill (North Wilkes)

Lethia Pardue (East Wilkes)

Kaitlyn Pierce (West Wilkes)

Cayley Shoemaker (Elkin)

Leah Simpson (Starmount)

Kayla Wiles (Alleghany (Alleghany)