Watauga-Ashe-Wilkes Scholarship Endowment presents $5,000 to WCC

WILKESBORO, N.C. – The Watauga-Ashe-Wilkes Scholarship Endowment recently awarded $5,000 to Wilkes Community College to use for student scholarships during the 2015-2016 academic year. The scholarship is awarded to students who are residents of Watauga, Ashe or Wilkes counties and maintain a 2.5 GPA.

The WAW Scholarship Endowment, established in 2001, aims to give students an educational opportunity that they may not have had before receiving the scholarship. The endowment is governed by the North Carolina Community Foundation and is a 501(c)(3) organization. Board members include: Phil Stevens, president; Charles Hartzog, vice-president; Kim Forrester, secretary; Kim Barnes, treasurer; Daphne Petrey, publicity; Michael Lyall, Watauga; Bradley McNeil, Ashe; Danny Holman, Wilkes; and Allison Phillips, Wilkes.

For more information on scholarships or making a donation to the Wilkes Community College Endowment Corporation, call 336-838-6491.

comments powered by Disqus