Last updated: February 16. 2014 12:20PM - 1290 Views
By - nham@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

A select group of highly respected football coaches from North Carolina and South Carolina were named as coaches for the 2014 Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas.

This year will mark the 78th year of the annual battle between the top senior football stars of the neighboring states.

The game is set to take place on Saturday, Dec. 20 from Gibbs Stadium on the campus of Wofford College in Spartanburg, S.C.

Each team has seven coaches comprised of high school coaches from each respective state.

One area coach made the squad as Avery County coach Darrell Brewer will be one of six assistant coaches to head coach Hal Capps from Mooresville High School.

Other coaches on the North Carolina team include Glen Padgett (Concord), Tom Eanes (Wilmington-Ashley), Barry Honeycutt (Corinth-Holders), David Green (Burlington-Williams) and Rick Larrick (West Forsyth).

Players that are rising seniors will participate in one of the five Shrine Bowl Combines held in the state. The first one is set for April 5 at Eastern Alamance HS. One week later, the combine will be at Rocky River HS before ending the month at South Johnson HS on April 26.

The final two combine dates are May 31 at A.C. Reynolds HS and June 7 at Washington HS.

Players have their vertical jumps, 40-yard dash time, agility shuttle time and bench press reps totaled, and then the coaching staff will choose what players they want on the team.

Teams practice together for a week before the game on the following Saturday.

*Nathan Ham can be reached at (336) 846-7164 or on Twitter @NathanHam87

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

West Jefferson Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com