Volleyball all-conference team named

By Nathan Ham - [email protected]

WEST JEFFERSON — Ashe County had one player receive all-conference recognition and two more on the honorable mention list released by the Mountain Valley Athletic Conference last week.

Lynsey Aldridge was Ashe’s selection to the all-conference team while Abby Miller and Haley Phipps received honorable mention recognition.

Alleghany, the NCHSAA 1A State Champions from this season, swept the top postseason awards. Jade Shepherd was named MVAC Player of the Year and Debbie Weaver was named MVAC Coach of the Year.

MVAC All-Conference

Lynsey Aldridge (Ashe)

Olivia Bullard (East Wilkes)

Saleena Call (East Wilkes)

Kacey Caudill (Alleghany)

Samantha Cozart (Elkin)

Maggie Freed (Starmount)

Ashley Johnson (Starmount)

Tyler Johnston (North Wilkes)

Kayla Lafferty (Alleghany)

McKenzie Mastin (West Wilkes)

Carrie Pennell (West Wilkes)

Caitlin Shepherd (West Wilkes)

Jade Shepherd (Alleghany)

Kayla Vanhoy (Starmount)

McKenzie Wood (North Wilkes)

Sidney Woodruff (Alleghany)

Honorable mention

Lauren Anderson (West Wilkes)

Kenly Burchette (Elkin)

Taitum Cothren (North Wilkes)

Chelsea Edwards (East Wilkes)

Brooke Farrington (North Wilkes)

Chloe Ford (Starmount)

Hanna Hall (Alleghany)

Caitlyn Macemore (East Wilkes)

Kailey McNeill (Wilkes Central)

Abby Miller (Ashe)

Mookie Miller (Alleghany)

Kasay Nichols (West Wilkes)

Allison Parker (Wilkes Central)

Haley Phipps (Ashe)

Anna Poplin (Elkin)

Taylor Wood (Starmount)

Nathan Ham can be reached at 336-846-7164 or followed on Twitter @NathanHam87


By Nathan Ham

[email protected]

comments powered by Disqus