ACHS tennis schedule released


Tryouts set for Aug. 1

By Nathan Ham - [email protected]



WEST JEFFERSON — The women’s tennis team is scheduled to play in 18 matches this season, including 14 conference matchups and four other non-conference matches.

Ashe will open the season with a pair of non-conference games, first at home against Watauga on Aug. 15 and then at Hibriten the following day.

Conference play starts quickly on Aug. 23 at East Wilkes. After that, Ashe will host North Wilkes on Aug. 25, travel to Watauga on Aug. 29 and host West Wilkes on Aug. 30.

September begins with a home conference tilt against Alleghany on Sept. 1. The Lady Huskies hit the road for two matches at Elkin (Sept. 6) and at Starmount (Sept. 8)

Ashe returns for three straight at home, beginning with Wilkes Central on Sept. 13, followed by East Wilkes on Sept. 15 and Avery County on Sept. 19.

The ladies are on the road for the next three at North Wilkes (Sept. 20), West Wilkes (Sept. 22) and Alleghany (Sept. 27).

The regular season comes to an end with a home match against Elkin on Sept. 29, a home match against Starmount on Oct. 4 and the final road match of the year at Wilkes Central on Oct. 6.

The Mountain Valley Athletic Conference Tournament will be at Elkin on Oct. 11.

Dual team playoffs begin on Oct. 18 while individual regionals begin on Oct. 20.

ACHS tennis schedule (all regular season matches at 4:30 p.m.)

Monday August 15 Watauga Home

Tuesday August 16 Hibriten Away

Tuesday August 23 East Wilkes Away

Thursday August 25 North Wilkes Home

Monday August 29 Watauga Away

Tuesday August 30 West Wilkes Home

Thursday September 1 Alleghany Home

Tuesday September 6 Elkin Away

Thursday September 8 Starmount Away

Tuesday September 13 Wilkes Central Home

Thursday September 15 East Wilkes Home

Monday September 19 Avery Home

Tuesday September 20 North Wilkes Away

Thursday September 22 West Wilkes Away

Tuesday September 27 Alleghany Away

Thursday September 29 Elkin Home

Tuesday October 4 Starmount Home

Thursday October 6 Wilkes Central Away

October 11 MVC Tournament @ Elkin

October 20-22 NCHSAA Individual Regionals

October 28-29 NCHSAA Individual State

October 18, 25, 31, November 2, 5 NCHSAA Dual Team Playoffs

Tennis tryouts

Tryouts for the women’s tennis team will begin on Aug. 1 at 4 p.m. at the high school. Those interested in trying out must have a current physical, parental permission form and concussion test on file with the school.

If you have any questions, call head coach Larry Dix at 919-418-3133.

Nathan Ham can be reached at 336-489-3062.

http://jeffersonpost.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/web1_Tennis-Ball.jpg
Tryouts set for Aug. 1

By Nathan Ham

[email protected]

comments powered by Disqus