ASU’s Marcus Cox on Maxwell Award list

Photo courtesy | Appalachian State Sports Information – Leading rusher Marcus Cox has been named to the preseason watch list for the Maxwell Award, given to college football’s player of the year.

BOONE — Junior running back Marcus Cox was recently named to the preseason watch list for the 2015 Maxwell Award. The list was released on Tuesday.

The Maxwell Award has been given to the college football player of the year since 1937 as voted on by sportswriters, sportscasters, head coaches and members of the Maxwell Football Club.

The award was named after Robert “Tiny” Maxwell who played, coached and officiated football during his brief lifetime before being killed in a car accident in 1922 at the age of 37.

Cox finished with 1,415 rushing yards, good enough for 22nd best in the country and 19 touchdowns last year, 11th most in the nation. Cox also led the Sun Belt in rushing yards, touchdowns and points scored.

There are three other Sun Belt players on the watch list. Georgia Southern running back Matt Breida, Louisiana-Lafayette running back Elijah McGuire and Arkansas State quarterback Fredi Knighten join Cox on the list.

Cox is well on his way to becoming the top rusher in Mountaineer team history. Kevin Richardson currently holds that record with 4,804 yards and 66 rushing touchdowns. Cox has amassed 2,665 yards and 34 touchdowns after just two seasons.

According to the Maxwell Football Club, semifinalists for the 2015 Maxwell Award will be announced on Nov. 2 and three finalists will be named on Nov. 23. The Maxwell Award winner will be announced on Dec. 10 as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN.

Nathan Ham can be reached at 336-846-7164 or followed on Twitter @NathanHam87

comments powered by Disqus