Last updated: June 01. 2013 8:38AM - 587 Views
D.G. Martin
One on One

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Ashe County Sports Hall of Fame will hold its Sixth Annual Banquet and Induction Ceremony on April 27 at Ashe County High School. The Ashe County Sports Hall of Fame Banquet will begin at 6 p.m. with a catered dinner by Smoky Mountain Barbeque followed by the induction ceremony.

Inductees this year consist of Christopher J. Barr, Kevin Wayne Jones, Jon Robert Jordan, and Frank Roland. These inductees will join the Class of 2012 Inductees which consisted of Kayla Nicole Richardson, Arvill Gwyn Cornette, Jack Warden Little, and Earl Junior Roland, II, the 2011 inductees which included Andrew Cheek, Tony Dickson, Ann Shoemaker McGuire, and Steve Rash and the 2010 inductees which consisted of Scott Davis, Tony Eldreth, Martin Little, Wayne Burgess, and Robert Burgess. These inductees join the company of the 2009 inductees consisting of Col. C. E. Francis, Bradley Lopp, Lane Hurley, members of the 1961-62 Lansing Football Team and the 1962-63 Lansing Football Team, as well as the 2008 inaugural inductees of Molly Sue Gambill, Max Hurley, Dr. Dean C. Jones, Jr., Edwin Taylor, Montie Weaver, Morris Walker, Wade Rose, and the 1964-65 Ashe Central High School Panthers basketball team.

The Ashe County Sports Hall of Fame seeks to recognize and honor sportsmen and women in individual and team sports, including representatives from not only the traditional ball sports of basketball, football, baseball and golf; but also hunting, game fishing, racing, and many others. The Committee seeks to recognize and perpetuate the noteworthy sportsman traditions of Ashe County by memorializing individuals and teams who have made extraordinary contributions to sports traditions in Ashe County. Nominations may be submitted year round and remain on file for consideration each year. The Committee encourages the public to submit an application for any individuals (living or deceased) or Teams meeting the above criteria.

The Ashe County Sports Hall of Fame consists of the following Committee members: Mike Badger, Graham Caddell, Marc Payne, Scott Grubb, Dr. Hank Clay, MaryAnne Moore, Tony Eldreth, David Miller, Bobby Hudler, Michael Vannoy, Shane Simmons, Billy Smith, and Doug Spell.

Tickets to the dinner and induction ceremony are available for purchase from the Ashe County Chamber of Commerce or a Committee member. Tickets prices are $20 per person for adults, $15 per person for ages 18 and under.

For additional information please call Doug Spell at 336-877-6693 or Graham Caddell at 336-246-6001 or contact any other Committee member.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

West Jefferson Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com