Cross Country all-conference team named

By Nathan Ham - [email protected]

WEST JEFFERSON — Seven Ashe County runners earned all-conference recognition after the 2015 Mountain Valley Athletic Conference season came to an end.

Ashe had four men receive all-conference honors after helping the Huskies win the men’s championship this year. Gareth Berry, Victor Melo, Andrew Tedder and Riley Richardson represented the Huskies.

One of the top two season awards also went Ashe County’s way. Head coach Shane Greene was named MVAC Men’s Coach of the Year. East Wilkes runner Kyle Rhodes was named MVAC Men’s Runner of the Year.

On the women’s side, Ashe freshman Madison Warner took home MVAC Women’s Runner of the Year honors after finishing first in the MVAC Championship. East Wilkes’ coach Anita Tharpe was the MVAC Women’s Coach of the Year.

The Lady Huskies had three all-conference runners. Joining Warner as an all-conference selection were Constance Mattix and Olivia Randolph.

Ashe had a pair of honorable mention runners. Billy Reyna qualified on the men’s side while Margot Mattix earned recognition for the women.

Men’s MVAC All-Conference

Gareth Berry (Ashe County)

Leo Bonilla (North Wilkes)

Joshua Hall (West Wilkes)

Said Javier (Elkin)

Sam Lentz (East Wilkes)

Jack McCormick (Starmount)

Daniel McNeill (West Wilkes)

Victor Melo (Ashe County)

Brandon Miller (West Wilkes)

Austin Motsinger (Wilkes Central)

Nathan Mullis (East Wilkes)

Jacob Parker (Elkin)

Kyle Rhodes (East Wilkes)

Riley Richardson (Ashe County)

Andrew Tedder (Ashe County)

Honorable Mention

Kobe Alexander (Wilkes Central)

Brandon Hemric (East Wilkes)

Cole Higgenbothem (West Wilkes)

Devon Redmon (Wilkes Central)

Billy Reyna (Ashe County)

Women’s MVAC All-Conference

Gracie Brown (East Wilkes)

Autumn Garcia (East Wilkes)

Madelyn Hamby (West Wilkes)

Madison Hamby (West Wilkes)

Valley Harbour (West Wilkes)

Carrie Lowe (Wilkes Central)

Cassie McGee (West Wilkes)

Claire Maske (Starmount)

Constance Mattix (Ashe County)

Olivia Randolph (Ashe County)

Kaylee Shelton (East Wilkes)

Taylor Tharpe (East Wilkes)

Lacey Triplett (Wilkes Central)

Lauryn Turner (North Wilkes)

Madison Warner (Ashe County)

Honorable Mention

Taylor Curry (Wilkes Central)

Margot Mattix (Ashe County)

Holly Royal (Starmount)

Lyric Ryan (East Wilkes)

Mya Tugman (Wilkes Central)

Nathan Ham can be reached at 336-846-7164 or followed on Twitter @NathanHam87

By Nathan Ham

[email protected]

comments powered by Disqus