Six Huskies make all-conference team

By Nathan Ham - [email protected]

Colin Ellis

Maison McNeill

Judd Price

WEST JEFFERSON — The Ashe County Huskies saw six of its top football players receive all-conference recognition from the Mountain Valley Athletic Conference.

Junior quarterback Colin Ellis, junior wide receiver Judd Price, senior wide receiver Maison McNeill, junior linebacker Tristen Jones, senior defensive lineman Luis Ramos and senior defensive lineman Alex Richardson were all named as all-conference performers.

Senior defensive back Garrett Miller earned a spot on the honorable mention team with his play in the secondary this season.

The Huskies finished the year at 6-6 overall and a 5-2 mark in the MVAC.

East Wilkes won two of the top three individual honors. Head coach JK Adkins was named MVAC Coach of the Year after the Cardinals finished the regular season a perfect 11-0 and 7-0 in the MVAC. The Cardinals ended the season 13-1 after falling to Mitchell in the 1AA Western Regional quarterfinals.

Senior defensive end Chris Dixon was named MVAC Defensive Player of the Year.

The MVAC Offensive Player of the Year award went to Wilkes Central senior Andrew Bynum. Bynum helped lead the Eagles to a 10-3 overall record and was one of the top rushers in the conference.

MVAC All-Conference

Offensive Backs

Will Altemueller (Elkin)

Camon Bryan (East Wilkes)

Andrew Bynum (Wilkes Central)

Chandler Caudill (West Wilkes)

Dalton Combs (Wilkes Central)

Colin Ellis (Ashe)

Jarrett Grimes (North Wilkes)

Andrew Nance (East Wilkes)

Brandon Prescott (Starmount)

Offensive Linemen

Brigg Adam (North Wilkes)

Brett Campbell (East Wilkes)

Justin Combs (East Wilkes)

Chris Dixon (East Wilkes)

Jacob Dyer (West Wilkes)

Avery Nash (Alleghany)

Simon Owens (Starmount)

Dedric Smith (Wilkes Central)

Dillon Wood (Elkin)


Maison McNeill (Ashe)

Justin Parsons (Wilkes Central)

Judd Price (Ashe)

Jared Wood (East Wilkes)


Brandon Prescott (Starmount)


Logan Allen (West Wilkes)

Andrew Elmore (East Wilkes)

Gavin Huffman (North Wilkes)

Will Jarvis (Wilkes Central)

Tristen Jones (Ashe)

Jordan Niten (East Wilkes)

Kaleb Redd (Alleghany)

Gatlin Welborn (Starmount)

Defensive Line

Brigg Adam (North Wilkes)

Chris Dixon (East Wilkes)

Adam Holbrook (East Wilkes)

Quincy Lineberger (East Wilkes)

Matt McMillan (Alleghany)

Luis Ramos (Ashe)

Alex Richardson (Ashe)

Dedric Smith (Wilkes Central)

Henry Stone (Starmount)

Defensive Backs

Alec Anderson (East Wilkes)

Madison Dunn (Wilkes Central)

Trey Lomax (Starmount)

Weston Miller (East Wilkes)

Brandon Prescott (Starmount)


Carlos Aquino (East Wilkes)

Honorable Mention offense

Dylan Bauguess (North Wilkes)

Austin Brown (West Wilkes)

Deven Couch (East Wilkes)

Taylen Dancy (Starmount)

Jasiah Ferguson (West Wilkes)

Trey Lomax (Starmount)

Antonio Lopez (Starmount)

Peyton Mullins (Starmount)

Daniel Pruitt (North Wilkes)

Kaleb Redd (Alleghany)

Joseph Rosales (Wilkes Central)

Hunter Shepherd (Wilkes Central)

Andrew Smythers (Starmount)

Bryce Vestal (East Wilkes)

Honorable Mention defense

Keaton Albertson (Alleghany)

Cory Burkhart (Wilkes Central)

Andrew Bynum (Wilkes Central)

Terry Calhoun (Wilkes Central)

McKinley Cheek (Elkin)

Hunter Cleary (East Wilkes)

Alex Duncan (Elkin)

Zack Greene (West Wilkes)

Joah Logan (East Wilkes)

Antonio Lopez (Starmount)

Garrett Miller (Ashe)

Simon Owens (Starmount)

Justin Parsons (Wilkes Central)

Nate Robinson (West Wilkes)

Mark Rodriquez (Alleghany)

Andrew Smythers (Starmount)

Holdene Terry (Elkin)

Chase Vernon (East Wilkes)

Nathan Ham can be reached at 336-846-7164 or followed on Twitter @NathanHam87

Colin Ellis Ellis

Maison McNeill McNeill

Judd Price Price

By Nathan Ham

[email protected]

comments powered by Disqus